NSTI Nanotech 2009

Nano- and Molecular-Scale Electronics

Sunday May 3, 2009, 8:00 am - 6:00 pm, Houston, Texas


A course detailing the physics and technology of post-VLSI electronic technologies. The course will focus on new nano-scale electronic device technologies.

Topics to be covered:

  • energy band structure and electronic transport phenomenon that dominates nanoscale and heterojunction systems
  • the properties of common compound semiconductors used for low dimensional systems
  • the material synthesis and properties of common compound semiconductors that comprise heterojunction and low dimensional systems
  • artificially structured materials (superlattices and quantum wells), and other low-dimensional synthesis methods such as VLS nanowires and TOPO and self-assembled quantum dots
  • fabrication and processing of nanoscale and low dimensional systems
  • semiconductor devices, with the goal to understand the devices that utilize heterojunctions, such as HEMTs, semiconductor heterojunction lasers, quantum well lasers / photodetectors / photoconductors, and quantum well resonant tunneling devices
  • mesoscopic and low dimensional devices, and their applications
  • the limits on scaling devices, and future device technologies

Course Instructor

Mark Reed Mark Reed is the Harold Hodgkinson Chair of Engineering and Applied Science at Yale University, which he joined after co-founding the first U.S. Nanoelectronics research program at Texas Instruments. His research activities have included the investigation of nanoscale and mesoscopic systems, electronic transport in heterojunction systems, artificially structured materials and devices, MEMS and bioMEMS, nanotechnology, and molecular electronics. Mark is the author of more than 175 professional publications, 6 books, has given 20 plenary and over 280 invited talks, and holds 25 U.S. and foreign patents. He has been elected to the Connecticut Academy of Science and Engineering and Who's Who in the World. His awards include; Fortune Magazine “Most Promising Young Scientist” (1990), the Kilby Young Innovator Award (1994), the DARPA ULTRA Most Significant Acheivement Award (1997), the Harold Hodgkinson Chair of Engineering and Applied Science at Yale University (1999), the Syracuse University Distinguished Alumni award (2000), the Forbes magazine “E-Gang” (2001), the Fujitsu ISCS Quantum Device Award (2001), the Yale Science and Engineering Association Award for Advancement of Basic and Applied Science (2002), Fellow of the American Physical Society (2003), and the IEEE Pioneer Award in Nanotechnology (2007).

Back to workshops.

Program | Tracks | Symposia | Workshops | Exhibitor | Press |
Venue | News | Subscribe | Contact | Site Map
© Copyright 2008 Nano Science and Technology Institute. All Rights Reserved.