NSTI Nanotech 2009
Mauro Ferrari

Mauro Ferrari

Director of the Research Center for NanoMedicine
Brown Foundation Institute of Molecular Medicine for the Prevention of Human Diseases
The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston

Dr. Mauro Ferrari is Professor and Director of The Division of NanoMedicine and Deputy Chairman of The University of Texas Department of Biomedical Engineering at The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston.  Dr. Ferrari is a Professor of Experimental Therapeutics at The University of Texas M.D. Anderson Cancer Center and a Professor of Bioengineering at Rice University. He is also the President of Alliance for NanoHealth.

Dr. Ferrari is an internationally recognized expert in the development, refinement and application of biomedical nanotechnology. He was trained in mathematics, engineering and medicine. He has published about 200 peer-reviewed articles. He received National Young Investigator Award of National Science Foundation from 1993 to1998 and the Wallace H. Coulter Award for Innovation and Entrepreneurship in 1999. From 2003 to 2005, he served as Special Expert on Nanotechnology and Eminent Scholar at The National Cancer Institute, where he led in the development of the NCIs program in Nanotechnology, which remains the largest program in NanoMedicine in the world. Dr. Ferrari has been the Editor-in-Chief for “Biomedical Microdevices: BioMEMS and Biomedical Nanotechnology” since 1997.

Dr. Ferrari has more than 30 U.S. and International patents awarded to his credit.  He has founded several startup companies.  He is the Scientific founder of NanoMedical Systems (NMS) in Austin, Texas and Leonardo Biosystems.  He is Director of Scientific Strategy of Arrowhead Research Corporation (NASDAQ:ARWR).

Co-chair of the symposium on Nano Medicine.

Speaking in the symposium on Cancer Nanotechnology.

View Confimed Speakers

← Back to Conferences & Symposia

Program | Tracks | Symposia | Workshops | Exhibitor | Press |
Venue | News | Subscribe | Contact | Site Map
© Copyright 2008 Nano Science and Technology Institute. All Rights Reserved.