Nano Science and Technology InstituteNano Science and Technology Institute
Nano Science and Technology Institute 2005 NSTI Nanotechnology Conference & Trade Show
Nanotech 2005
Bio Nano 2005
Business & Investment
Nano Impact Workshop
Nanotech Expo
Special Symposia
Business & Investment
ICCN 2005
MSM 2005
WCM 2005
Venue 2005
Press Room
Site Map
Nanotech 2005 At A Glance
Nanotech Proceedings
Nanotechnology Proceedings
Global Partner
nano tech
Supporting Organizations
Nanotech 2005 Supporting Organization
Media Sponsors
Nanotech 2005 Medias Sponsors
Event Contact
696 San Ramon Valley Blvd., Ste. 423
Danville, CA 94526
Ph: (925) 353-5004
Fx: (925) 886-8461

Microtechnology, Semiconductors & MEMS

Microtech 2005
2005 Microtechnology Conference and Trade Show
May 8-12, 2005
Anaheim Marriott Hotel & Convention Center
Anaheim, California, U.S.A.

Invited Speakers

Clayton Teague National Nanotechnology Coordination Office (NNCO)
Clayton Teague, Director, NNCO (speaker biography)
Nanotechnology at Motorola Labs
Vida Ilderem, Motorola, US (speaker biography)
Title to be announced
Robert Chau, Intel Corporation, US
Systems of Microsystems: wireless sensor networks
Deborah Estrin, University of California at Los Angeles, US
From Micro- to Nanosystems: mechanical sensors go nano
Christopher Hierold, ETH Zürich, CH
Lars Samuelson Semiconductor Nanowires for Future Nanoelectronics
Lars Samuelson, Lund University, SE
Ian Marshall Ian Marshall
University of Kent, UK
Higher-order Sigma-Delta Modulator Interfaces for MEMS
Michael Kraft, Southampton University, UK
Application of Polymer Self Assembly to Semiconductor Microelectronics
Charles T. Black, IBM, York Town, US
Y-nano X-micro technologies: nanometric optical control
Davies William De Lima Monteiro, Federal University of Minas Gerais, BR
Keith R. Larson Emerging Technologies and Corporate Investment
Keith R. Larson, Intel Capital, US
(speaker biography)
Steve Jurvetson Nanotechnology and Transcending Moore's Law
Steve Jurvetson, Draper Fisher Jurvetson, US
(speaker biography)
Electronics and Optoelectronics with Single Carbon Nanotubes
Phaedon Avouris, IBM, US
James R. Heath Applications of Ultra-Dense Nanowire Circuitry
James R. Heath, California Institute of Technology, US
Timothy D. Sands
Basil S. Turner Professor of Engineering, Purdue University, US (speaker biography)
Smart Dust: Concept->Macro->Micro->Nano
Kris Pister, Berkeley Sensor & Actuator Center, Dust Networks, US
A History of MOS Transistor Compact Modeling
C-T Sah, University of Florida, US
"Intelligent sensors: systems or components?"
Neil White, Southampton University, UK
Consumer and Automotive Embodiments of Smart Sensors
Benedetto Vigna, ST Microelectronics, IT
Data centric wireless sensor networks
Paul Havinga, University of Twente, NL
Node design for pervasive sensor networks: a top down view
Robert M. Newman , Coventry University, UK
In Situ Atmospheric Profiling using Mobile Ad-hoc Sensor Networks
John Manobianco, ENSCO, Inc., US

Industry Symposia

Topics and Application Areas

The major areas of activity in the development of microtechnology solicited and expected at this conference include but are not limited to:

  • Advanced Semiconductors
  • Bio Arrays and Proteomics
  • Bio Micro Systems
  • Characterization and Parameter Extraction
  • Circuits
  • Compact Modeling
  • Computational Methods and Numerics
  • Lab-on-Chip
  • MEMS Design and Application
  • MEMS Modeling
  • Micro and Nano Structuring and Assembly
  • Micro Fluidics
  • Molecular Electronics
  • Nano Devices and Systems
  • Nano Electronics
  • Nano Fluidics and Transport
  • Nano Scale Device Modeling
  • Quantum Effects, Quantum Devices and Spintronics
  • RF Device Design
  • Smart MEMS and Sensor Systems
  • System Level Modeling
  • Wafer and MEMS Processing

A technical digest on CDROM, consisting of articles submitted by authors of both oral and poster papers will be distributed to participants at registration.

Microtechnology Conference Organization

Topical and Regional Scientific Advisors and Chairs


Narayan R. Aluru, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign, USA
Bernard Courtois, TIMA-CMP, France
Anantha Krishnan, Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency, USA
Bart Romanowicz, CFD Research Corporation, USA


David K. Ferry, Arizona State University, USA
Andreas Wild, Motorola, Germany

Microtechnology Conference Committee

Narayan R. Aluru, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign, USA
Xavier J. R. Avula, University of Missouri-Rolla, USA
Stephen F. Bart, The Charles Stark Draper Laboratory, Inc., USA
Bum-Kyoo Choi, Sogang University, Korea
Bernard Courtois, TIMA-CMP, France
Peter Cousseau, Honeywell, USA
Robert W. Dutton, Stanford University, USA
Gary K. Fedder, Carnegie Mellon University, USA
Steffen Hardt, Institute of Microtechnology Mainz, Germany
Lee W. Ho, Corning Intellisense, USA
Eberhard P. Hofer, University of Ulm, Germany
Michael Judy, Analog Devices, USA
Yozo Kanda, Toyo University, Japan
Jan G. Korvink, University of Freiburg, Germany
Anantha Krishnan, Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency, USA
Mark E. Law, University of Florida, USA
Mary-Ann Maher, MemsCap, France
Kazunori Matsuda, Naruto University of Education, Japan
Tamal Mukherjee, Carnegie Mellon University, USA
Andrzej Napieralski, Technical University of Lodz, Poland
Ruth Pachter, Air Force Research Laboratory, USA
Michael G. Pecht, University of Maryland, USA
Marcel D. Profirescu, Technical University of Bucharest, Romania
Marta Rencz, Technical University of Budapest, Hungary
Siegfried Selberherr, Technical University of Vienna, Austria
Sudhama Shastri, ON Semiconductor, USA
Armin Sulzmann, Daimler-Chrysler, Germany
Mathew Varghese, The Charles Stark Draper Laboratory, Inc., USA
Dragica Vasilesca, Arizona State University, USA
Gerhard Wachutka, Technical University of Münich, Germany
Jacob White, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA
Thomas Wiegele, Goodrich, USA
Wenjing Ye, Georgia Institute of Technology, USA
Sung-Kie Youn, Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology, Korea
Xing Zhou, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore

Technical Program Chairs

Matthew Laudon, NSTI-ACRS, USA
Bart Romanowicz, CFDRC, USA

Conference Quick Links

  • Conference Program
  • Industrial Impact Workshop
  • Nanotech Business & Investment
    Gold Sponsors
    Nanotech Gold Sponsors
    Silver Sponsors
    Nanotech Silver Sponsors
    Gold Key Sponsors
    Nanotech Gold Key Sponsors
    Nanotech Ventures Sponsors
    Nanotech Ventures Sponsors
    Nanotech Sponsors
    News Headlines
    NSTI Online Community

    © Nano Science and Technology Institute, all rights reserved.
    Terms of use | Privacy policy | Contact