Nano Science and Technology InstituteNano Science and Technology Institute
Nano Science and Technology Institute 2003 NSTI Nanotechnology Conference & Trade Show
Nanotech 2003
BioNano 2003
Index of Authors
2003 Sub Sections
Press Room
NSTI Events
Site Map
Nanotech Proceedings
Nanotechnology Proceedings
Supporting Organizations
Supporting Organizations
Event Contact
696 San Ramon Valley Blvd., Ste. 423
Danville, CA 94526
Ph: (925) 353-5004
Fx: (925) 886-8461




Dr. Christian Joachim is Director of Research at CNRS and head of the molecular Nanoscience and Picotechnology group (The GNS) in CEMES/CNRS, Toulouse. He is also currently co-ordinating the E.U. Project “Bottom-UP Nanomachines” and the Midi-Pyrenees efforts in “Nanoscience, Nanotechnology and Nanomaterial (CPER 3N)”. He was Director of the CNRS Nano-Science Network and had directed two North Atlantic Treaty Organisation Advance Research Workshops on Nanoscale Sciences. He demonstrated the non exponential behaviour of electron transfer through a molecule. At IBM, he pioneered research on electrical contact on a single molecule using the STM ranging from molecular switching in 1987 with A. Aviram to the C60 molecule in 1994 with J.K. Gimzewski. He introduced the Elastic Scattering Quantum Chemistry (ESQC) technique in 1991, now a standard in STM image calculations. His recent accomplishments are the theory of atomic and molecular manipulation with the STM, the discovery of long range tunnel processes through a molecule, the fabrication of metal-insulator-metal planar nanojunctions for the planar implementation of molecular devices and the discovery of the first molecular rotor. More recently, he introduces the concept of mono-molecular electronics and of tunnel wired molecular nano-robots.

He is the author of more than 150 scientific publications and has presented more than 120 invited talks on electron transfer theory through a molecule, STM and AFM image calculations, tunnel transport through a molecule, molecular devices and nanolithography. Dr. Joachim received the 1988 French Chemical Physics Prize for its work on electron transfer theory, The 1991 IBM France Prize for his work on tunnelling through a molecule and the 1997 Feynman Prize in nanotechnology for his work on molecular manipulation. In 1999, he received the French Nanotechnology prize for his work on nanoscale science and the Share University Research (SUR) Award of IBM Corp. for its works on intramolecular circuits. Recently, in 2002, he received from the CNRS, the Silver Medal in Chemistry for its works on molecular nanosciences.

Featured Sponsors
Nanotech Sponsors
News Headlines
NSTI Online Community

© Nano Science and Technology Institute, all rights reserved.
Terms of use | Privacy policy | Contact