Nano Science and Technology Institute

Nobel Prize Winners Make Chemists’ Work With Molecules Easier

The 2005 Nobel Prize in Chemistry was awarded to 3 researchers for their pioneering work in developing catalysts that make metathesis more reliable and easier to control. The work of Yves Chauvin (French Oil Institute), Richard Schrock (MIT), and Robert Grubbs (California Institute of Technology) has led to metathesis being widely used in the synthesis of organic, carbon-based compounds, such as pharmaceuticals and plastics. According to the Nobel citation, metathesis has led to industrial and pharmaceutical methods that are more efficient and less wasteful, simpler, and more environmentally friendly. Many researchers see the work of these three men as instrumental in transforming the way chemists go about building molecules.

↑ Back to Nano World Breaking News™

↑ Back to Nano World News™

Nano World News™ Issue Archive:

RSS feed RSS feed

© 2014 Nano Science and Technology Institute. All Rights Reserved.
Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Contact Us | Site Map